Rohr drops Mikel, Aina as Nigeria’s Final 23-man Squad for World Cup is Named

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has released Nigeria’s final 23-man squad to the World Cup holding in Russia.

After the list was trimmed to 25 players few days ago, Rohr was expected to name his final team by the June 4 deadline given by the Federation International Football Association (FIFA).

However, Rohr has dropped on-loan Bursaspor midfielder, Mikel Agu and Hull City defender, Olaoluwa Aina from the Super Eagles final squad to the mundial.

After their abysmal performancs against the Three Lions on Saturday, fans had called for the axing of team vice-captain, Ogenyi Onazi and Torino midfielder, Joel Obi, from the squad but Rohr has opted otherwise.

Nigeria face Czech Republic on Wednesday, June 6, in Austria in what will be her final warm-up game before the World Cup tournament commences.

Nigeria face Croatia on June 16 in her first game in the group stage of the World Cup in Kaliningrad before battling Iceland and Argentina later on.

This is Nigeria’s sixth appearance at the FIFA World Cup tournament following appearances in 1994, 1998, 2002, 2010 and 2014.

The West African giants have never made it past the second round of the competition. The Super Eagles got to the Round of 16 in 1998 and 2014 but were eliminated in the round during the two tournaments.

The 2013 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winners have also scored 20 goals in total at the World Cup.

Captain of the side, John Obi Mikel will only be appearing in his second World Cup tournament after he made his debut in the competition in 2014.

Nigeria’s Final 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna Fabril, Spain), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba Int’l FC, Nigeria), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).

Defenders: Tyronne Ebuehi (Benfica), William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France), Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy).



Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password