Super Eagles Announce Jersey Numbers for World Cup-bound Players

The Super Eagles have announced the arrangement of Jersey numbers for all players included in the final 23-man squad heading to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

The number allocation was announced in a video clip published on the Super Eagles’ verified Twitter handle on Monday.

Gernot Rohr and his men landed in Austria on Sunday after their friendly loss to the Three Lions of England two days ago.

Changchun Yatai forward, Odion Ighalo retained his number nine jersey as the favourite striker in the team, while team captain, John Obi Mikel kept his number 10 shirt.

‘The Oyinbo wall,’ William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun got number five and six respectively, as the first choice centre-backs.

Leicester City duo Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho were handed the jersey numbers 4 and 14 respectively with Ahmed Musa, who is on loan at CSKA Moscow from the King Power Stadium outfit, given number 7.

Israeli league title winner with Hapoel Beer Sheva, John Ogu has number 19, the number three jersey was given to Cercle Brugge’s Elderson Echiejile.

Chelsea winger, Victor Moses is to wear the number 11 shirt while Las Palmas energetic midfielder, Oghenekaro Etebo has been handed the number eight.

Right full backs, Shehu Abdullahi and Tyronne Ebuehi will wear numbers twelve and twenty-one. Vice-captain, Ogenyi Onazi got number 17 while Arsenal star, Alex Iwobi will put on the number 18 jersey in Russia.

In the goalkeeping department, Francis Uzoho was given number 23. Enyimba Int’l football club shot-stopper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa has number one while third choice, Daniel Akpeyi has been handed number 16.

Super Eagles new boy, Simeon Nwankwo will put on the number 13 shirt. Nwankwo has made only one appearance for the Eagles after he was invited for the match against DR Congo.

Nwankwo impressed coach Gernot Rohr during the fixture against the Congolese counterparts though was an unused substitute in the clash against England. He is expected to be a good back-up for Odion Ighalo.

Nigeria will slug it out with Czech Republic on Wednesday, June 6 in Austria before jetting out to Russia on Monday, June 11.

1 – Ikechukwu Ezenwa
2 – Bryan Idowu
3 – Elderson Echiejile
4 – Wilfred Ndidi
5 – William Troost-Ekong
6 – Leon Balogun
7 – Ahmed Musa
8 – Oghenekaro Etebo
9 – Odion Ighalo
10 – John Obi Mikel
11 – Victor Moses
12 – Shehu Abdullahi
13 – Simeon Nwankwo
14 – Kelechi Iheanacho
15 – Joel Obi
16 – Daniel Akpeyi
17 – Ogenyi Onazi
18 – Alex Iwobi
19 – John Ogu
20 – Chidozie Awaziem
21 – Tyronne Ebuehi
22 – Kenneth Omeruo
23 – Francis Uzoho

Countdown to Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup: 10 days…



Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password